Poached Eggs


February 20, 2012

I was visiting with my sister this weekend and asked her if she like poached eggs. She told me that she and her husband were obsessed with them for awhile. They would boil Ramen noodles and poach eggs with the noodles.  I didn’t ask but I assume this is something he picked up stationed in Korea while serving for the U.S. Army these last 6+ Months. (You may correct me if I am wrong dear sister)

As we continued on with our conversation I flashed back to a sick day from school.  I rolled over on the couch and my well-meaning dad had prepared two poached eggs smothered in grape jelly.  Oh, not what I wanted when sick with the flu!  Apparently, this is a favorite comfort food for him.  I did not think I would ever eat a poached egg until about a year ago.

I think I just wanted to meet the challenge of being able to cook a poached egg.  Everyone talks about how hard it is.  Really, it is pretty easy.  Not only did I learn I could poach an egg, I learned that it is one of the most heavenly tastes on this earth.  I will never eat an overeasy egg again.  Poached eggs are rich and meaty and have a velvety texture you can’t get with a fried egg. The runny yoke is like a second course.  If you have not had a poached egg you need to at least try one.  You might fall in love like me.

Poached Eggs on homemade corn tortilla

Corn tortillas  (can be refrigerated or frozen)

2 cups masa (corn flour)

1 tbs lime juice

1 tsp salt

1 1/3 cup water

Mix all ingredients together and seperate into 12 balls.  Dough should not be stick but should be soft and stay together.  If dough is dry dip balls in cold water before rolling out.  Roll out with rolling pin turning a corner turn each time you roll until you have  a round tortilla.  Cook each tortilla in a skillet for 30 seconds to 1 minute on each side.  Serve warm.

Poached Eggs

Fill skillet with water that is about 2 inches deep Heat on medium until water is hot. (you can add a tsp or so of vinegar or lemon juice if you have trouble with your egg staying together). Crack egg shell and drop egg into water.  Cook 3-4 minutes until white is cooked but yoke is still soft.  Egg should be easy to lift out of water with a slotted spoon.

I ate my egg with leftover BBQ beef. (I promise when I get a bbq sauce recipe I am happy with I will share it)  You can also use refried beans and salsa for poached eggs huevos rancheros.

4 thoughts on “Poached Eggs

  1. I had never had poached eggs before! It sounded good this morning as I’m fighting the lingering effects of the stomach flu (or the gluten flu, who knows). I poached two eggs and topped them with a little kerrygold butter and they were delicious! I have to admit that I was craving a piece of buttered toast to mop up the last of the egg yolk. Funny, how I don’t miss sandwiches but I do miss buttered toast and my favorite “Honey Bunches of Oats with Almonds” cereal.

Leave a Reply

