What to say next


February 7, 2012

I am searching for words this week.  When I started my blog I couldn’t keep up with my thoughts and had to carry a little notebook around to keep track of what I wanted to say.  I have come to a point where it doesn’t feel as difficult to live this life and the people who are not interested in what I have to say tuned out a long time ago. That is okay.  I am not doing this for them.  I am doing it for me and for my own family.  After this post I will do only monthly check-ups on my weight and how I am feeling. I think I might feel less frustrated if I see monthly changes. After keeping track of what I have been eating ( I use myfitnesspal.com) I was not eating enough calories some days.  I know that sounds ridiculous but I have to believe that it is true if you don’t eat enough you will have trouble losing weight.  Since I started using this app I have made sure to eat close to my calorie goal and have steadily lost one pound a week.

I have been questioning why I still feel run-down some days and others I have more energy.  A call from my doctor today explained my condition.  Earlier I listed iron-deficient anemia as one of my conditions.  I wrongly believed that it would be cured quickly by taking iron supplements for a few months.  I was told today that I will probably have this condition forever.  I don’t absorb iron like I should and I can’t help but blame my gluten problem.  Now that I know this I won’t be so hard on myself for getting worn out so easily.  My hope is that at the end of this year both the anemia and the gluten intolerance will have improved or healed because of the way I am eating.

I have a lot of questions from others about what I eat.  I have decided to share the meals I eat the most.  I find it very interesting that the bulk of the questions come from my high school classroom.  They have grown up on packaged foods and fast food are very interested in what I am doing.  Actually, I am not sure if it is interest or if they are looking at me like I am some kind of carnival sideshow.  They do ask a lot of questions.  It is very interesting to me to hear what they eat.  I grew up on a farm and we made a lot from scratch and used foods that we raised.  Some of them don’t have any idea what homemade food is and if they do have it they usually don’t like it.  Unfortunately, I don’t think it is just the 18 and under set that has that opinion about fresh, natural food.

Foods that I eat:

Breakfast.  I do want to point out that I leave my house very early and pack a breakfast and a lunch.  I eat breakfast when I first get to work so it is usually something very simple that takes little prep.  Pancakes, poached eggs, hashbrowns, etc. are saved for Sunday mornings. My life is like everyone else’s….full.  Full-time job and full-time wife and mother.  It takes less time to cut up an apple or cook a scrambled egg than it does to sit in a drive-thru or run into a gas station to buy a donut.

-Apple slices and 1 tbsp peanut butter.  I like Creamy Peter Pan.  Yes, it is processed.  It does not contain corn syrup but it contains hydrogenated oils.  On the other hand I eat a lot of it and could not afford $5 for a 16 oz jar of Smucker’s natural.  I have recently found a natural peanut butter at a nearby Amish store that is the same price as regular peanut butter.  I switched over this past week to that.

-Plain greek yogurt with 1 tsp raw honey, cinnamon,and a handful of almonds.  The almonds are roasted and only contain sea salt.

-Oatmeal with 1 tbsp raw honey, cinnamon, blackberries, and 2% milk. (The oatmeal is NOT in a little envelope! I use old-fashioned rolled oats or steel cut oats.  They will cook in a microwave in about 2 minutes.)

-1 slice (gluten free) homemade multigrain bread with 1 tbsp cream cheese and sliced avocados.

2 scrambled eggs and salsa wrapped in corn tortillas.

Lunch.  Generally, lunch is leftovers from supper the night before.

-homemade vegetable soup.

-broiled chicken breast with frozen vegetables and 1 pat salted butter.

-sweet potato wrapped in plastic wrap  put in the microwave for 6 minutes with 1-2 tbsp sour cream or salted butter.

-grapes, salted almonds, 1-2 oz cheese or avocado slices.

-apple slices with 1-2 tbsp peanut butter.

Snacks

-Homemade oatmeal cookie

-Cheese and Almonds or multi-grain crackers

-fruit

-popcorn.  You can buy popcorn kernels and put 2 tbsp in a brown or white paper lunch bag. Pop in microwave for 2 minutes.  Add a little butter and salt if you like.

Supper

-Meat, Potato, Vegetable, repeat 🙂

-Vegetable or potato soup, chili with beans.

-grilled or broiled steaks, fish, chicken.

-oven baked fish sticks or chicken strips.  Sometime fried in olive oil and butter.

-patty melts with caramelized onions (just cook the onions in butter while frying the hamburgers) and oven baked fries.

-(gluten-free)pasta with meat sauce. (sauce made from diced tomatoes, garlic, olive oil, oregano, basil, and parsley)  I bought 2 lbs of Romano cheese to grate myself.  I cut off a few chunks and put them in our mini-food chopper and it was the same texture as the shaker cheese.  No one knew the difference.

-Stir-frys and fajitas with lots of peppers and onions.

-Beef or Pork roast left in the crockpot all day with potatos, carrots, onions, and celery.  Seasoned with garlic, parsley, marjoram, thyme, and oregano.  Salt and pepper.

-Pizza with homemade crust, sauce (see above), hamburger or venison burger, mushrooms, peppers, other veggies and mozzarella cheese.

-grilled steaks, chicken, shrimp, etc.  Sliced potatoes, onions, zucchini, peppers,butter,garlic wrapped in foil and put on the grill.

None of what I eat is complicated to make.   I do have to make my own bread and pizza crust because store-bought gluten free is just, well, nasty.  If you are a gluten eater you can find whole grain breads and crusts.  I have also found that I don’t just eat mindlessly anymore.  There is a little prep in whatever I eat like cutting up cheese or produce or popping the corn. The prep makes me have to think about what I am eating. I don’t just unwrap a Little Debbie or open a bag of Lay’s.  The longer I am away from these foods the better the “real” food tastes. My grapes don’t need MSG to make me want more.  I know that my veggie dip tastes just as good as french onion dip and I can pronounce ALL of the ingredients.  Want to try it?

Jackie’s Dip

1/2 cup Daisy Sour Cream

1-2 tsp Dried Chives

Chopped green onion or 1/2 tsp onion powder.

Stir together and taste.  Add more chives or sour cream to suit your taste.

It’s almost as easy to make as lifting a lid and peeling off the plastic freshness seal.

4 thoughts on “What to say next

  1. Jackie,

    I love your blog. It is so encouraging to hear and see how you are progressing in your journey to wellness. Thank you for being open and honest. I am praying for you the God will give you grace and peace on your journey.

    Blessings,
    Kathy Veatch

Leave a Reply

