Again with the Grains


January 6, 2012

I fried fish tonight.  I fried cut-up pieces of Swai coated in corn meal and corn flour    in olive oil and butter.  Shannon cut up white potatoes and baked them in the oven  at 400 degrees for 30 minutes.  I microwaved a California blend vegetable mix with butter.  The girls loved the fish and Shannon agreed that it would digest and make “poo” properly. (Why can’t he just say that he likes something?)

For everyone else it was just supper, one step past after school TV and reading the newspaper, one step before baths, pj’s, and bed.  For me it was conflict.  Was my meal the unprocessed and natural whole foods I think I should be eating?  My whole week has felt like a long walk through a dark tunnel.  What exactly am I doing?  Corn is technically a whole grain flour because It is not enriched, bleached, or processed.  But I fried fish and I coated it in flour.  Am I going to make whole grain flours a part of this process or not?  I fried the fish in olive oil and butter and olive oil is a great source of Omega-3’s. But I still fried it. And why am I agonizing over something that no one else in the world cares about?  Oh man, what about the ketchup?  Do I need to make my own ketchup?  Remember the first National Lampoon’s Vacation movie?  Clark sits at the picnic table, sticks his spoon in a mason jar and asks, “real tomato catsup Eddie?”  

And so for the second evening in a row I am evaluating my meal and thinking that if I know exactly what is in my food, and I can pronounce and spell all of the ingredients is that good enough?  Maybe not in the long run but for now it seems like a good start.

6 thoughts on “Again with the Grains

  1. Just remember that it’s a process; a journey that is beginning. It doesn’t all have to happen at once. Start with baby steps and keep moving forward. You will get there.

  2. Have you tried Almond Meal? Made from blanched almonds- works well for breading.

    Also, if you’re looking for some ideas or just a basic guideline, you might want to check out the Paleo Diet (if you haven’t already) It’s an unprocessed, grain-free/sugar-free/dairy-free lifestyle. There are sites and recipes all over the internet.

    (… and I make my own ketchup.. ;~})

      • Sure!

        Ketchup- yields 1 1/2 cups:

        1 (6oz) can tomato paste
        2 tbsp lemon juice (or vinegar)
        1/4 tsp dry mustard
        1/4 tsp cinnamon
        1/4 tsp salt (opt)
        1/3 cups water
        Pinch of ground cloves
        Pinch of ground allspice

        -Mix all ingredients together- can be used immediately, but flavor with strengthen overnight. Store in fridge.

        -For spicy ketchup, add 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper.

        (HINT: a “pinch” of spice is when you grab the spice with your first three fingers- thumb, index and middle)

  3. If you’re interested in reading about the Paleo lifestyle I have two books about it and you are welcome to borrow them. I have “The Paleo Solution” by Robb Wolf and the new book out by Loren Cordain that I’m reading now, “The Paleo Answer”. This is the diet that is working for me. With at least 25 years of untreated celiac damage I don’t handle any grains very well. My “brush border” may look normal now but I still can’t handle those grains. Eating this way does require a lot more time in the kitchen preparing food, but I’m feeling so much better and have so much more energy that I think it’s worth every minute!! You will get there too.

Leave a Reply

