Thursday the Third Day


January 5, 2012

It is amazing how many books exist to help you find the right nutrition.  I have found a new time waster called Pinterest.com.  It of course is the time of year when everyone is trying to get back in shape and lose weight.  I saw literally 15-20 posts on Pinterest today with inspirational quotes and diet tips and even a guide to portions of all of the different types of food.  Photos of women and men in perfect physical condition.  What is the right way?  What is perfect nutrition?  Could one thing really work for everyone?What if we all really did eat only unprocessed all natural foods.  What if we only ate until we were satisfied?  Would there be any need for counting calories, points, or minutes on a treadmill?

In my first post I vowed to swear off grains in the processed form.  What is processed?  This whole undertaking is forcing me to evaluate EVERYTHING.  How strict and disciplined do I really intend to be?  All-Natural can mean so many different things.  While learning to read labels and look for gluten sources in all of my food I have learned that the government allows so many things to be called “natural.”  For example, natural flavoring in a candy bar could come from barley.  If a label says “natural flavoring” but doesn’t give a source I don’t eat it.  I can’t be sure it is safe for me.  Many of the gluten-free convenience foods have natural ingredients that are all forms of grains and sugars.  Is this really all natural?  Or am I seeking true form whole foods all natural?  And so this is my conflict.  Honestly, I know in my heart that what I need to do is the hardest thing to do.  No more convenience, no more wrappers.  Get honest with myself.  Human waste is natural.  Does that mean I want or should eat it?  The words “all natural” could probably translate to “garbage” for most things with a wrapper.

And so how did today go?  How am doing doing on this third day of my undertaking?  I had a good day today.  I ate one Hershey’s Kiss.  I made cornbread to go with my soup last night and ate that for lunch.  The cornbread contains rice and tapioca flour, sugar, corn meal, egg, and butter (real butter).  Is this all natural? Looking at the list of ingredients I know the sources. I can spell all of them.   I guess that is something I will decide as I continue on my chosen path.

Leave a Reply

